Skip to content

European Member Universities

CIVIS is Europe's Civic University Alliance, bringing together a community of more than 470,000 students and 58,000 staff members. It is the fruit of the special collaboration between 11 leading research higher education institutions across Europe: Aix-Marseille Université, National and Kapodistrian University of Athens, University of Bucharest, Université libre de Bruxelles, Universidad Autónoma de Madrid, Sapienza Università di Roma, Stockholm University, Eberhard Karls Universität Tübingen, University of Glasgow, Paris Lodron University of Salzburg and University of Lausanne.

African Partner Universities

The Mediterranean zone and Africa is at the heart of CIVIS' global strategy. We firmly believe that the future of Europe and that of Africa are intertwined. On 11 March 2022, CIVIS and its member universities signed an ambitious partnership agreement with six prestigious African universities.

This agreement commits CIVIS and its African partner universities to an ambitious agenda for partnership over the coming years, offering a framework for exciting and innovative new collaborations.